Surf Sweets are made with natural colors and flavors
Surf Sweets are made with organic fruit juice and sweeteners*
Surf Sweets are fortified with your daily allowance of Vitamin C
Surf Sweets are one of the only candies made without corn syrup
Surf Sweets are produced in a facility free of the ten most common allergens including nuts
Surf Sweets are Feingold approved
*This means the fruit juice and sweeteners have not been exposed to chemical pesticides and fertilizers like many other candies that contain conventional fruit juice.
A recent study completed by the British medical journal The Lancet, showed that artificial colors and preservatives increased hyperactivity and decreased attention span in a wide range of children with and without learning disabilities. A number of food and candy manufacturers in Europe are now removing artificial colors, flavors and preservatives from their products. In addition, the American Academy of Pediatrics recently issued a position paper which suggested removing artificial colors and preservatives from the diets of children experiencing ADHD behaviors (http://www.feingold.org/aap.html). Artificial colors are primarily coal-tar derivatives made from chemical compounds which are made when coal is distilled.
Yes, all Surf Sweets are made and packaged in a facility free of the 10 most common food allergens, including dairy/casein, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, wheat, soy, fish, shellfish, sesame and sulfites.
Yes, our products are both manufactured without wheat and made in a facility that is free of wheat, making them suitable for people with celiac disease or following a gluten-free diet. (Note: we do random testing on finished product down to 5PPM for gluten and have never had a positive test result.)
Yes, our products are both made and packaged in a facility free of peanuts and tree nuts, making them completely nut-free.
Yes, all of our products are both dairy-free and casein-free. Casein is the protein that is found in dairy products. Surf Sweets candies are made and packaged in a dairy- and casein-free facility so they are appropriate for anyone with dairy allergies/sensitivities and anyone following a gluten-free casein-free (GFCF) diet.
Our candies are produced in molds made out of corn starch and therefore, may contain trace amounts of corn starch. In addition, some of our natural flavors are diluted with corn alcohol. While corn starch and corn alcohol do not contain corn protein, we understand that everyone has different levels of sensitivity to corn. We encourage everyone to talk with their doctor and to make their own decisions about what foods are (or are not) safe for them to eat.
No. Our products are produced in a facility free of: wheat, dairy, soy, eggs, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame and sulfites.
Yes. Our products are both produced and packaged in the United States.
Yes. Surf Sweets are Stage 2 Feingold approved. You can learn more about the Feingold diet at http://www.feingold.org
Nine of our products are Vegetarian (Fruity Bears, Gummy Swirls, Jelly Beans, Sour Berry Bears, Sour Worms, Peach Rings, Watermelon Rings, Fruity Hearts and Spring Mix Jelly Beans). Our Gummy Bears, Gummy Worms and Spooky Spiders contain gelatin so they are not vegetarian.
Seven of our products are Vegan (Fruity Bears, Gummy Swirls, Sour Berry Bears, Sour Worms, Fruity Hearts, Peach Rings and Watermelon Rings ).
Our gelatin is derived from pork.
The lactic acid in our products is derived from beets and is dairy-free.
The citric acid and ascorbic acid are derived from sugar.
The pectin that we use in our products is derived from citrus peels (lemon and orange).
Carnauba wax is an extremely useful natural renewable resource used as a coating for some of our candies. It is harvested from the leaves of the Carnauba palm which is only grown in certain regions of Brazil. It should not be confused with palm oil palms grown in Southeast Asia.
The wax is harvested following traditional procedures. Palm leaves are cut and dried in the sun. The wax is then obtained from a film powder that coats the leaves. After cutting, the trees then continue to grow new leaves until the next harvest. The process does not damage the trees and the use of carnauba wax creates an economic incentive to keep these trees standing.
Confectioners glaze is a natural ingredient that gives our jelly beans their shine. It is similar to beeswax and comes from the lac insect.
We use a number of natural flavors to make our candies taste delicious! All of our natural flavors are organic compliant and do not contain synthetics, GMOs and are not irradiated. For example, we use fruit extracts like orange oil to make the natural orange flavor. The natural flavors do not contain MSG or any of the eight most common allergens.<
Here is a complete listing of the natural flavors used in our products:
Gummy Bears, Gummy Worms, Jelly Beans, Fruity Bears & Sour Worms: Cherry, Grape, Grapefruit, Lemon, Orange and Strawberry.
Fruity Hearts: Cherry and Watermelon.
Sour Berry Bears: Sour Cherry, Black Raspberry and Strawberry.
Gummy Swirls: Cherry, Orange and Strawberry.
Spring Mix Jelly Beans: Tropical Punch (Pineapple, Passion Fruit, Banana, Orange & Cherry), Pineapple, Mixed Berry (Plum, Strawberry, Blackberry, & Raspberry), Lemonaid, Tangerine.
Tell me more!
Our products have different attributes and certifications. We have put together a chart to show which attributes each product contains. To view the chart, please click here.